History | Clane Golf Society


Clane GAA Golf Society History


The Clane GAA Golf Society was hatched one winters evening in the year 2000 over a pint of the black stuff by Peter Redmond, Seamus Maguire, Martin Mulhall, Theresa Lynch, John & Carol Tutty in the bar of Clane GAA Club.

The following year Fr. Paul Dempsey was installed as the societies first President and John Tutty became the first Captain. In 2001 the first Captains Day prize was played for and won by Martin Murphy. The following year Theresa Lynch became the first Player of the Year recipient. In 2003 the inaugural Presidents Prize sponsored by Tom Redmond, was played for and the winner was Carmel O’Leary.

The Presidents Prize was won in 2018 by Mick O’Toole. Mick had a super year and he was also crowned the societies Golfer of the Year. The current crop of society members competed for the Captains Day Cup sponsored by Tom O’Brien in 2012. The accolade of Captains Day winner has been shared around the society and the current Champion is Sean Cooney with his Victory in Millicent Golf Club.

The Society has had three members who have recorded a Hole-in-One during outings. The first was by Padraig Ging in Grange Castle. John Keating and Liam Gibbons have also had the privilege.

From humble beginnings the society celebrates its 19th year in existence. As ever the Society seeks new members to carry it forward and all are welcome to come and play Golf in a friendly environment. So, here’s looking forward to some great Golf outings to come and a bright future for Clane GAA Golf Society.